Turn design inside out

Our City

How does Dublin work?

The four local authorities of Dublin City (city core), Fingal, South Dublin and Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown comprise the Dublin City Region. This is the administrative and political capital of Ireland, and home to over a quarter of Ireland’s overall population (April 2009)1. The Region is the economic driver and employment hub of the state; accounting for just under 40% of economic output.

Metropolitan Dublin includes the mid-eastern counties of Meath, Kildare, Wicklow and Dublin with a population of 1.6 million. The “Celtic Tiger” boom years 1991- 2006 saw an unprecedented transformation of its urban and suburban landscape and by 2006, over 30% of all existing homes in the counties of Metropolitan Dublin had been constructed during this boom.

Grand Canal Theatre Daniel Libeskind, photo by Ros Kavanagh