Projects / Hidden Rooms

The Rewarded City

Devising a creative entrepreneur dividend

Go to Project ↓

The Hidden Room venue was Liffey Trust Centre, 117-126 Upper Sheriff St, Dublin 1. An eight storey purpose built building which incorporates enterprise and start-up office units for the Liffey Trust, a designated Performing Arts School and residential accomodation. The centre was designed by architect Shay Cleary and completed in May 2009.

The guest speaker was Anne Miltenburg, the discussion was chaired by Angela Dorgan, and the DCC client was Ray Yeates. A full list of participants is below.

The group explored the following issue:

A new Cultural Quarter is currently at the design phase for Parnell Square with a new City Library and Cultural Centre opening there in 2018.

An emerging Cultural Cluster is developing around the Arts Office in Foley Street incorporating Dance House, The Oonagh Young Gallery/Design HQ, The Talbot Gallery & StudiosArtists Units 3+4, The Abbey TheatreFirestation Artists Studios alongside heritage buildings such as the Customs HouseBusáras and Connolly Station.  This cultural community works alongside businesses such as Irish Water, Bord Gáis, the Health and Safety Authority and AON insurances and Dublintown (Dublin Business Improvement District) in what remains a residential community in the heart of the north inner city. Situated in Dublin’s historic Monto area, residents include generations of Dubliners who have deep connections to the area’s rich heritage and a significant ‘new Irish’ community. Can Arts and Culture now lead in the development of this area?

Creative entrepreneurs are central to initiatives such as these and the City Arts Office will invite a number of guests to share their challenges and experience, and talk about the dividends they create and the ones they need.

Creative entrepreneurs provide vision and leadership, create wealth and drive recovery by improving the quality of life in the context of personal risk taking. What incentives, investment and support do they need? What initiative could we pilot in 2015?

Please see the group’s key slide plenary session presentation below.


Aiden Kenny

Angela Dorgan - Chair

Angela Rolfe

Anne Miltenburg - Guest Speaker

Dave Smith

Dennis McNulty

Eavan Murphy

Elaine McDevitt

Hugh Campbell

Ian Oliver

James Van De Waal - Visualiser

Johanna Varghese

Kerry Guinan

Marie Redmond

Marissa Denker

Mary Weir

Nicola Ryan

Nora Mahony

Oonagh Young

Ray Yeates - DCC Client

Shane Waring

Sheena Barrett


Project Story

Related Projects →